Khulna Agricultural University

text of the printing and typesetting industry been the industry’s.

About KAU

Khulna Agricultural University (KAU) is 5th public agricultural university of Bangladesh and 1st in the southern region. By fostering new ideas and innovation, it has begun a steady journey toward achieving a new level of excellence in academics and research in the agricultural sector. It also serves the country and the larger community by developing knowledgeable and skilled professionals who can meet the challenges of the 21st century and help build ‘Smart Bangladesh’. It was established on 14 July 2015 by the Act of the University passed in the National Assembly with the vision to become the ‘Center of Brilliance’.

The university commenced the academic activities in 2018 and it currently offers undergraduate degrees from different faculties.

1. Veterinary, Animal and Biomedical Sciences
  • Department of Anatomy and Histology
  • Department of Physiology
  • Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Department of Microbiology and Public Health
  • Department of Livestock Production and Management
  • Department of Pathology
  • Department of Parasitology
  • Department of Genetics and Animal Breeding
  • Department of Dairy Science
  • Department of Poultry Science
  • Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine
  • Department of Animal Nutrition
  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Surgery
  • Department of Theriogenology
2. Agriculture
  • Department of Agronomy
  • Department of Soil Science
  • Department of Entomology
  • Department of Horticulture
  • Department of Plant Pathology
  • Department of Crop Botany
  • Department of Plant Genetics and Biotechnology
  • Department of Agricultural Extension and Information Systems
  • Department of Agroforestry
  • Department of Agricultural Chemistry
  • Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
3. Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
  • Department of Fishery Biology and Genetics
  • Department of Aquaculture
  • Department of Fishery Resources Conservation and Management
  • Department of Fisheries Technology and Quality Control
  • Department of Oceanography
  • Department of Fish Health Management
4. Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness Studies
  • Department of Agricultural Economics
  • Department of Sociology and Rural Development
  • Department of Agribusiness and Marketing
  • Department of Agricultural Statistics and Bioinformatics
  • Department of Agricultural Finance, Co-operative and Banking
  • Department of Language and Communication Studies
5. Agricultural Engineering and Technology
  • Department of Farm Structure
  • Department of Farm Power and Machinery
  • Department of Irrigation and Water Management/li>
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Mathematics and Physics

Another two faculties (Faculty of Food Sciences and Safety, and Faculty of Environment, Disaster Risk and Agroclimatic Studies) are in the process of being included. The university is going to offer Master of Science (M.S.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees in the near future.

To fulfill the dream of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman of developing ‘Sonar Bangla’, KAU is committed to promoting excellence in higher education for a thriving and inclusive society through knowledge development and dissemination. To fulfill its objective, it works diligently to provide high-quality education so that students can address local, national, and international challenges.